Blog Stuff

Blogging tips are useless

Before I signed up for my WordPress account I did what I imagine a lot of people do and I googled terms like “best blogging site” and “how to start a blog”, which turned up more articles than I’d ever actually care to read but all of which seemed to be more or less the same.

A lot of them were heavy on choosing the right subject and sticking to it, others would discuss how to “grow your brand” and “engage your audience” while courting advertisers to make money, and I saw a lot of talk about “products” and “competition”.

How intimidating and gross all of that is to the hobbyist who isn’t looking to be turn this into their full-time job or even a part-time job, or a job at all. What a turn off. And I don’t think I’m alone in that because I saw a lot of that in the comments. Things like, “I’m blogging for myself, why should I care about an audience?”

People who are blogging for themselves are the people who are likely to be the loyal readers to these hardcore bloggers looking to make a buck, but it seems they only write for other hardcore bloggers. How dull. If there’s someone out there blogging to the hobbyists, they certainly aren’t making the first few pages of google, but I guess that’s the risk you run when you’re not plugging a hosting service.

I’m saying this mostly for my own benefit since reading posts like that can be overwhelming:

It’s okay to not be a gardening blog or a fashion blog or a recipe blog or a mommy blog or whatever else is out there. It’s okay to blog for myself and not for advertising dollars. It’s okay to not be professional.

What’s important is that I do it for as long as I want to do it and am enjoying it, and I hope others who start for similar personal reasons also realize it’s okay to not develop themselves into a “brand” and just do what’s fun or relaxing for them.

Leave a Reply

